top of page

Rush elected ICGA president

(Photo courtesy of IL Corn)

BLOOMINGTON – Matt Rush, a farmer from Fairfield, IL, has been elected president of the IL Corn Growers Association (ICGA) for 2022-2023 at their re-organizational meeting, which was held immediately following the organization’s annual meeting.

Rush has served on the ICGA board for six years, most recently as vice president. He will continue his role as District 13 Director for the duration of his term as president, serving members in Clay, Edwards, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marion, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, and White Counties.

“It’s an honor but it’s also a little intimidating,” Rush told The Central Illinois Farm Network of his election as president this week. “There have been some excellent past presidents so it is some big shoes to fill.”

Rush will guide the organization into the next year by representing members in Springfield and Washington D.C. He considers the Next Generation Fuels Act a top priority.

“Representative Cheri Bustos was a champion for us in the House and she chose not to re-run so we’ve been the given the task of helping her find somebody to get that reintroduced and keep it going.”

Around 30 co-sponsors from both sides of the political aisle, both Democrats and Republicans, supported the act which Rush would like to get across the finish line.

Joining Rush in leadership roles are Vice President Dave Rylander of Victoria, Treasurer Sarah Hastings of Sidney and Secretary Joe Murphy of Harrisburg.

The Exports Committee will be led by Chairman Garrett Hawkins of Waterloo and Vice Chairman Jason Bunting of Emington. Elected to lead the Industrial Committee were Mark Bunselmeyer of Maroa and Vice Chairman Kate Danner of Aledo. Grassroots Committee leadership for the coming year are Chairman Don Guinnip of Marshall and Vice Chairman Mike Shane of Peoria.

Two farmers were re-elected and will continue in their positions as directors. They are Mark Bunselmeyer of Maroa, and Matt Rush of Fairfield. Reelected At-Large Directors include Kate Danner of Aledo and Dave Rylander of Victoria.

Three newly elected directors were elected and seated, representing Districts 1, 4, and 10. Chris Gould of Maple Park will represent District 1, serving Boone, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties. Cliff Lane of Toulon will represent District 4, serving Bureau, Lee, Marshall, Putnam, Stark, and Whiteside Counties. Shane Gray of Waverly will represent District 10, serving Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Morgan, Sangamon, and Scott Counties.

IL Corn Growers Association is a state-based organization that represents the interests of corn farmers in Illinois, maintaining a high profile on issues in Washington, DC, and Springfield, IL. Through grassroots advocacy, ICGA creates a future for Illinois farmers in which they can operate freely, responsibly, and successfully. In order to fulfill this mission, the organization conducts governmental affairs activities at all levels, market development projects, and educational and member service programs. For further information regarding their work and involvement, visit their website


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page