top of page

Honors presented at fair

Past queen Ainsley Kratochvil, current queen Grace Brown, current king William Weber and past king Christopher Corrigan.

PONTIAC – Opening night of the 2022 Livingston County Ag Fair was full of recognition.

William Weber of the Flanagan Town & Country Club was named fair king while Grace Brown, also of the Flanagan Town & Country Club, was announced as queen. Weber is the son of Dan and Heather Weber while Brown is the daughter of Jim and Christine Brown.

Runners-up for fair king and queen were Aiden Palmer of the Waldo Peppy Club and Brynna Beutke of Wide Awake Timberline Club. Others in the running for fair royalty included Mara Knobloch of Waldo Peppy Club, Ethan Schumm of the Cornell Classic Clovers and Raya Bauman of Rooks Creek Pioneers Club.

Samantha Johns of Pontiac received a $1,000 HCE scholarship. The 2022 graduate of Pontiac Township High School is the daughter of Vic and Tammy Johns and will be a freshman at ISU with plans to become an athletic trainer.

Amy Schlipf was announced as one of this year’s 4-H Hall of Fame inductees. Her involvement in 4-H spans over 26 years. She has led the Waldo Peppy Club at Gridley for the past two decades. Schlipf has also served on different committees and is a staple at the Livingston County 4-H Show each year as a judge and superintendent.

“You have a unique opportunity to pour into these kids and teach them how to apply themselves, to build their character, to encourage them to grow,” Schlipf explained. “Disappointments happen but it is our job to refocus them on the positive value of learning something from their mistakes as well as their successes.”

University of Illinois Extension said Livingston County is fortunate to have Amy Schlipf as a 4-H leader, volunteer and friend.

The 2022 Livingston County Fair Board Scholarship winners were announced. Scholarships are given to 4-H members in the county each year that meet all of the requirements.

Those winning $500 scholarships include: William Weber of Flanagan, Samantha Johns of Pontiac and Brynna Beutke of Long Point. The $250 scholarship winners are: Autumn Schlipf of Gridley, Grace Brown of Flanagan, Ivan Miller of Cropsey and Mara Knobloch of Gridley.

A special recognition was held in memory of fair board member Roberta Maubach. A new garden area at the center of the park was dedicated to Maubach, representing all of the work and time she put in at the fairgrounds.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page