top of page

Counties declared disaster areas

Governor Pritzker has declared 34 Illinois counties along the Mississippi and Illinois rivers disaster areas after flooding last week.

The declaration, which was made on Friday, ensures towns battling flooding from heavy rains will receive state help. Over five inches of rain was recorded near Morris, Aurora and Chicago’s airports. Crews in Alton constructed a barrier wall Thursday after water from the Mississippi closed roads.

The state’s Corrections Department will provide workers to assist with sandbagging.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page