top of page

Corn Growers distribute awards

Dennis Haab is recognized during the Livingston County Corn Growers annual meeting in Pontiac / CIFN photo.

PONTIAC – The Livingston County Corn Growers Association distributed two awards during its annual meeting Monday in Pontiac.

Dennis Haab received the distinguished service award. He was elected to the Livingston County Farm Bureau Board in the 1990s and eventually served as president.

“His wealth of knowledge continues to be a huge asset,” said current Farm Bureau President Jason Bunting, noting Haab’s professionalism and work ethic.

The ag educator award went to Dan Faber, a retired ag teacher and FFA advisor at Flanagan. Faber earned an agriculture education degree from Illinois State in 1975 and started his teaching career at Olympia. He later accepted a position at Flanagan High School and spent 39 years in the profession.

“I don’t think there’s a county in the state that supports the ag program like Livingston County does,” Faber said.

Prior to holding elections, the association heard an update from president Kent Blunier who reported on the second yield tour conducted last summer and a “Flick on the Farm” event aimed at exposing people to country life.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page